Skip to content
Trail&Pass
Group of hikers on the way to the Toubkal refuge, the snow-covered summit ridge behind

Morocco · Guided ascent · 2–3 days · Refuge or tent

Toubkal: twelve tours for two days, and the three questions no inclusions list answers

Toubkal is the highest mountain in North Africa and the most convenient 4,000 m peak in the world: ninety minutes from Marrakech, no climbing, one night at the refuge, back at the riad on the second afternoon. Twelve operators sell almost the same programme on Viator for between USD 106 and 327 – and differ in what the title does not say: whether a mule carries the luggage, whether the sleeping bag is included, whether crampons are provided in winter, and whether you may book alone.

4,167mJbel Toubkal, the highest point in North Africa
Editorially checked on 25 September 2026Prices as of 23 September 2026Photo: Kurinurm, CC BY-SA 4.0
2–3days from Marrakech, one night at the refuge
≈ 2,430mascent from Imlil: 1,470 to the refuge, 960 to the summit
120–360€list price per person, group to private
12 Comparefrom USD 120 →
Decision at a glance
  • ProgrammeEleven two-day treks via Imlil, Sidi Chamharouch and the Refuge du Toubkal (3,207 m), summit on the second morning · one three-day trek via the Azzaden valley (View Morocco)
  • List pricesUSD 120 (Amazouz, group) to EUR 290 ≈ USD 327 (Guías de Atlas) per person for two; solo EUR 150 ≈ USD 169 (Atlas Mountain Trekking) to EUR 360; private USD 350 (Amazouz) or EUR 180 ≈ USD 203 (Toubkal Experience)
  • NightDormitory at the refuge with nine products, tent with Toubkal Hiking (max. 8), unclear with Toubkal Guide and Atlas Mountain Trekking
  • Sleeping bag and cramponsSleeping bag included only with Toubkal Experience; crampons and ice axe for November to April in nobody's list – rental on site
  • Travelling aloneFrom one person: Amazouz, Guías, Omar, Toubkal Hiking, Toubkal Experience, Morocco Mountain Guides, Atlas Mountain Trekking, View Morocco · Minimum two: Toubkal Guide, Biking in Morocco, Marocco Trekking
  • CancellationEleven products free up to 24 hours before; Morocco Mountain Guides only up to six days

Who Toubkal is for

Toubkal is a mountain for people who are in Marrakech and have two days to spare. You need no experience with altitude or rock, but legs for 1,470 m of ascent on the first day and 960 up plus 2,430 down on the second – more than most Alpine day hikes ask, and it happens between 1,740 and 4,167 m with no time to acclimatise. Headaches at the refuge are normal; those who take them seriously still go in the morning, because the guide sets the pace.

Since 2019 a mountain guide has been compulsory in Toubkal National Park, and the checkpoint above Aroumd enforces it. That is why there are so many near-identical packages: the trek is the same, the guide is required, and the difference between USD 106 and 327 lies in group size, mule, cook, sleeping bag and type of transport. We read twelve products and blocked two more because title and itinerary do not match.

The three questions that explain the price

Who carries the rucksack? Six products name a mule that takes luggage and kitchen to the refuge; with the others it is not in the list, and with Atlas Vertical (not in our selection) “porters” are expressly extra. Without a mule you carry sleeping bag, water and winter jacket 1,470 m uphill yourself.

What is on the bed at the refuge? Mattress and blankets yes, sleeping bag no – only Toubkal Experience includes it, six operators expressly exclude it or rent it. In summer the blankets are enough for most people; from October to April they are not.

What happens in winter? From November to April there is snow above the refuge, and without crampons and ice axe no guide goes to the summit. Not a single product has them in the inclusions list; six name them as rental gear extra, Toubkal Experience and Morocco Mountain Guides mention them only in the text. One operator outside our selection (Imlil Treks) puts the rental at EUR 10 per person – that is the guide figure.

Three recommendations for three travel situations

Twelve products from twelve operators. Prices per person for two; six operators tier by group size, Amazouz has a private option.

Private, all in

Toubkal Experience – 2 days private with cook, mule, water and sleeping bag

The only list in which mule, cook, water and sleeping bag appear together, plus private transfer. EUR 180 for two, 150 from four, 100 from nine – solo 280. Crampons for winter in the text, not in the list: ask.

approx. USD 203 Private · per person for two travellers

Main limitation: The description names crampons and ice axe from November to April as part of the trek, the inclusions list does not – ask whether they are provided. Meeting point in Marrakech or pickup.

Check on Viator →
Solo for EUR 150

Atlas Mountain Trekking – 2 days from one person without surcharge

Mule, three meals, tea, hotel pickup, from age 12. The night is “guest house in a Berber village” in the itinerary and “refuge 3,200 m” in the heading – ask where you sleep. Water, tips and crampons extra.

approx. USD 169 Group · per person

Main limitation: The itinerary heads day 1 “Toubkal Refuge 3200 m” but the night is “guest house in a Berber village” – where you sleep is not clear. Water, drinks, tips and crampons in winter extra. Carry your passport.

Check on Viator →
Tent instead of dormitory

Toubkal Hiking – 2 days in a tented camp at 3,000 m, at most eight guests

For those who dread the dormitory with 60 people: tents, own mountain chef, guide from Imlil, EUR 210. Two lunches, one dinner, one breakfast. “Mountain equipment” extra – so rent sleeping bag and crampons in winter.

approx. USD 237 Small group · per person

Main limitation: The description promises tents instead of the crowded refuge, the inclusions list says “accommodation in a mountain hut” – probably tents next to the refuge, ask. Two lunches, one dinner, one breakfast. Mountain gear, tips and insurance extra.

Check on Viator →

Affiliate links to Viator: if you book, we earn a commission and the price stays the same. Converted at Viator's rate on 23 September 2026; Viator converts at the day's rate at checkout.

The refuges at the head of the valley below Toubkal at 3,207 m
Head of the valley at 3,207 m: the refuge where all twelve programmes spend the night – or the tent next to it.Photo: Musguide, CC BY-SA 4.0

Inclusions compared: night, mule, sleeping bag, crampons, solo

Eleven inclusions on which the packages differ. The inclusions lists of Toubkal products are shorter and worse maintained than those of pricier treks: Morocco Tours With Locals and View Morocco name “in-vehicle air conditioning” as their only inclusion. “Open” means: not written – with EUR 150 products often because the operator takes it for granted. Asking costs one message.

Show me only offers with
InclusionAmazouz · 2 days from Marrakech, group or privateAmazouz Morocco Tours · 2 daysGuías de Atlas · 2 days with full boardGUÍAS DE ATLAS · 2 days · With reservationsToubkal Guide · 2 days with cook and muleToubkal Guide · 2 daysMorocco Tours With Locals · 2 days, tiers down to EUR 140Morocco Tours With Locals · 2 days · With reservationsToubkal Hiking · 2 days in tents, max. 8Toubkal Hiking · 2 daysOmar Adventures · 2 days, refuge with all mealsOmar Adventures · 2 daysBiking in Morocco · 2 days, guide also in GermanBiking in Morocco day tours · 2 daysMarocco Trekking · 2 days, everything in incl. waterMarocco Trekking · 2 daysToubkal Experience · 2 days private, sleeping bag and water includedToubkal Experience · 2 daysMorocco Mountain Guides · 2 days, dormitoryMorocco Mountain Guides · 2 daysAtlas Mountain Trekking · 2 days from 1 person, EUR 150Atlas Mountain Trekking - Day Tours · 2 daysView Morocco · 3 days via the Azzaden valley and Aguelzim passView Morocco - DMC Adventure Travel Company · 3 days · With reservations
Options and list pricesGroupUSD 120Private with own carUSD 350Groupapprox. USD 327for twoGroupapprox. USD 248for twoGroupapprox. USD 226for twoSmall groupapprox. USD 237GroupUSD 150Groupapprox. USD 189for twoGroupUSD 189Privateapprox. USD 203for twoGroupapprox. USD 204Groupapprox. USD 169Groupapprox. USD 350
days / nights2 / 12 / 12 / 12 / 12 / 12 / 12 / 12 / 12 / 12 / 12 / 13 / 2
StartHotel in Marrakech (pickup included)Marrakech (transfer included)Accommodation in Marrakech, 8 am (pickup included)Café Argana, Jemaa el-Fna, Marrakech (pickup possible)Accommodation in Marrakech (pickup included)Marrakech (pickup included)Any hotel in Marrakech (pickup included)Hotel in Marrakech (pickup included)Marrakech, meeting point or pickupHotel in Marrakech, 9 am (pickup included)Hotel or meeting point in Marrakech (pickup included)Marrakech, meeting point or pickup
Night: refuge, tent or gîteRefuge du Toubkal, dormitoryNeltner refuge, 3,207 m“Camping” per the list, “gîte” per the itineraryNot statedTent at ≈ 3,000 m per the descriptionRefuge du Toubkal, 3,207 mRefuge du Toubkal, 1 nightRefuge du ToubkalRefuge, 1 nightRefuge du Toubkal, dormitory, 3,207 m“Guest house in a Berber village” per the itinerary, refuge in the headingTamsoult refuge and Refuge du Toubkal
Transfer Marrakech–Imlil✓included
Show detailsPickup and return Marrakech–Imlil.
✓included
Show detailsRound-trip transport.
✓included
Show detailsTransport from and back to Marrakech.
?unclear
Show detailsAir-conditioned vehicle mentioned, transfer not explicitly.
✓included
Show detailsRound trip between accommodation in Marrakech and the trek.
✓included
Show detailsPrivate transport.
✓included
Show detailsHotel pickup and drop-off.
✓included
Show detailsHotel pickup, experienced driver.
✓included
Show detailsPrivate transfer Marrakech–Imlil and back.
✓included
Show detailsPickup in Marrakech, air-conditioned vehicle.
✓included
Show detailsTransport from and back to Marrakech, hotel pickup.
?unclear
Show detailsTransfer Marrakech–Imlil in the itinerary, not in the list.
Meals?unclear
Show detailsBreakfast and lunch in the list; dinner not mentioned.
✓included
Show detailsFull board per the list.
✓included
Show detailsBreakfast, lunch and dinner, own cook.
?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned.
✓included
Show details2 lunches, 1 dinner, 1 breakfast, mountain chef.
✓included
Show detailsBreakfast, lunch and dinner, dietary requirements possible.
✓included
Show details2 lunches, dinner, breakfast, tea and coffee.
✓included
Show detailsBreakfast, lunch and dinner.
✓included
Show detailsBreakfast, lunch and dinner, cook.
✓included
Show detailsBreakfast, lunch and dinner, cook.
✓included
Show detailsBreakfast, lunch and dinner, tea and coffee.
?unclear
Show detailsLunch at the pass mentioned, nothing else.
Drinking water?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned.
✕not included
Show detailsWater and drinks excluded.
✕not included
Show detailsDrinks excluded.
?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned.
?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned.
✕not included
Show detailsDrinks excluded.
?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned.
✓included
Show detailsOne 1.5-litre bottle per person.
✓included
Show detailsWater during the trek included.
✕not included
Show detailsMineral water excluded.
✕not included
Show detailsBottle of water excluded.
?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned.
Mule for luggage✓included
Show details“Guide and mule team” in Imlil per the itinerary.
✓included
Show detailsGuide and mules in Imlil.
✓included
Show detailsMule in the list.
?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned.
?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned.
?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned; “we can cater for all your equipment”.
?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned.
?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned.
✓included
Show detailsMule included.
✓included
Show detailsMule and cook.
✓included
Show detailsMule for the bags.
?unclear
Show details“Berber guides and mules” in the description.
Sleeping bag?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned.
?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned.
✕not included
Show detailsRental gear, extra.
?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned.
?unclear
Show details“Mountain equipment” excluded; sleeping bag not named separately.
✕not included
Show detailsExcluded.
✕not included
Show detailsRental gear, extra.
?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned.
✓included
Show detailsSleeping bags during the trek included.
✕not included
Show detailsExcluded, no rental.
?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned.
?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned.
Crampons and ice axe in winter✕not included
Show detailsPersonal trekking equipment excluded; winter not mentioned.
?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned; winter only described as “spectacular”.
✕not included
Show detailsCrampons and ice axe in winter as rental gear, extra.
?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned.
✕not included
Show detailsMountain equipment excluded.
✕not included
Show detailsExcluded in winter.
✕not included
Show detailsCrampons in winter as rental gear, extra.
?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned.
?unclear
Show detailsIn the description (Nov–Apr), not in the list.
?unclear
Show detailsCrampons and ice axe Nov–Apr in the description, not in the list.
✕not included
Show detailsCrampons and ice axes in winter excluded.
?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned.
Tips?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned.
?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned.
✕not included
Show detailsTips excluded.
✕not included
Show detailsTips excluded.
✕not included
Show detailsTips excluded.
✕not included
Show detailsTips excluded.
?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned.
?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned; “all taxes and fees” included.
?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned.
✕not included
Show detailsTips excluded.
✕not included
Show detailsTips excluded.
✕not included
Show detailsTips excluded.
Guide in German✕not included
Show detailsEnglish, French, Spanish.
✕not included
Show detailsEnglish, Italian, French, Spanish.
✕not included
Show detailsArabic, English, French, Spanish.
✕not included
Show detailsEnglish, Polish, French, Spanish.
✕not included
Show detailsEnglish, French, Spanish.
✕not included
Show detailsEnglish, French, Spanish.
✓included
Show detailsGerman, English, Italian, French, Spanish per the list.
✕not included
Show detailsEnglish, French, Spanish.
✕not included
Show detailsArabic, English, French, Spanish.
✕not included
Show detailsArabic, English, French, Spanish.
✕not included
Show detailsEnglish, French, Spanish.
✕not included
Show detailsEnglish, French, Spanish.
Private tour◐depends on option
Show detailsOption “Private 2-Day” with own car, USD 350.
?unclear
Show detailsNot stated.
?unclear
Show detailsNot stated.
?unclear
Show detailsNot stated.
✕not included
Show detailsSmall group up to 8.
?unclear
Show detailsNot stated.
?unclear
Show detailsNot stated.
?unclear
Show detailsNot stated.
✓included
Show detailsPrivate trek per the title.
?unclear
Show details“Tailor-made expedition”, group size not stated.
?unclear
Show detailsNot stated.
?unclear
Show detailsNot stated.
Bookable from 1 person✓included
Show detailsNo minimum number per booking.
✓included
Show detailsBookable from 1 person at the solo price of EUR 360.
✕not included
Show detailsMinimum 2 adults.
✓included
Show detailsBookable from 1 person, EUR 265.
✓included
Show detailsNo minimum number per booking.
✓included
Show detailsNo minimum number per booking.
✕not included
Show details“Not available to 1 person”.
✕not included
Show detailsMinimum 2 people.
✓included
Show detailsBookable from 1 person, EUR 280.
✓included
Show detailsNo minimum number per booking.
✓included
Show detailsBookable from 1 person, no surcharge.
✓included
Show detailsBookable from 1 person.
Groupmax. 15 per bookingmax. 15 per bookingmax. 15 per bookingmax. 10 per bookingmax. 8 per bookingmax. 15 per bookingmax. 15 per bookingmax. 15 per bookingmax. 15 per bookingmax. 12 per bookingmax. 15 per bookingmax. 15 per booking
Tour languageEnglish, French, SpanishEnglish, it, French, Spanishar, English, French, SpanishEnglish, pl, French, SpanishEnglish, French, SpanishEnglish, French, SpanishGerman, English, it, French, SpanishEnglish, French, Spanishar, English, French, Spanishar, English, French, SpanishEnglish, French, SpanishEnglish, French, Spanish
AgeNo age limits statedNo age limits statedChildren only accompaniedNo age limits statedNo age limits statedNo age limits statedNo age limits statedNo age limits statedChildren up to 5 per bookingNo age limits statedfrom age 12No age limits stated
CancellationFree cancellation up to 24 hours before start.Free cancellation up to 24 hours before start.Free cancellation up to 24 hours before start.Free cancellation up to 24 hours before start.Free cancellation up to 24 hours before start.Free cancellation up to 24 hours before start.Free cancellation up to 24 hours before start.Free cancellation up to 24 hours before start.Free cancellation up to 24 hours before start.Full refund up to 6 days before start, partial up to 2 days.Free cancellation up to 24 hours before start.Free cancellation up to 24 hours before start.
Rating★ 4.7 (399 reviews)★ 5.0 (186 reviews)★ 5.0 (108 reviews)★ 5.0 (99 reviews)★ 5.0 (93 reviews)★ 4.8 (79 reviews)★ 5.0 (57 reviews)★ 5.0 (47 reviews)★ 5.0 (38 reviews)★ 5.0 (31 reviews)★ 5.0 (32 reviews)★ 4.8 (10 reviews)
ProductCheck on Viator →
Viator 440767P24
Check on Viator →
Viator 158803P1
Check on Viator →
Viator 45314P10
Check on Viator →
Viator 133087P2
Check on Viator →
Viator 327399P3
Check on Viator →
Viator 73883P4
Check on Viator →
Viator 117073P4
Check on Viator →
Viator 425498P1
Check on Viator →
Viator 256938P2
Check on Viator →
Viator 121785P2
Check on Viator →
Viator 15613P5
Check on Viator →
Viator 157202P16

How to read this: “included” and “not included” come from the operator's inclusion and exclusion lists on Viator. “Depends on option” means only certain bookable variants. “Unclear” means neither promised nor excluded – ask before booking. Unclear is not zero dollars.

Platform ratings signal demand and trust, not safety. Operator data as of 24 September 2026. Converted at Viator's rate on 23 September 2026; Viator converts at the day's rate at checkout.

Two products we do not show. Morocco Luxe Tours sells a “2-Day Mount Toubkal Summit Trek” whose itinerary goes through the Azzaden valley to Tizi Oudet – without the summit. Trek in Atlas says “3 days” in the title, 22 hours in the duration and one night in the list. Both stay blocked until the data is right. Guías de Atlas we show with a caveat: the option title says three days, the duration 34 hours, the itinerary two days. Altitude: from the riad at 450 m to 4,167 in 30 hours – headache and nausea at the refuge are common, the guides know it. If you have had altitude sickness before, take the three-day trek or sleep a night in Imlil first.

Booking terms: 24-hour cancellation, one exception, two minimum sizes

Eleven products can be cancelled free up to 24 hours before start; Morocco Mountain Guides refunds in full only up to six days before and partially between two and six days. All confirm instantly. Minimum travellers: Toubkal Guide and Marocco Trekking require two people per booking, Biking in Morocco is “not available to 1 person”; Guías, Morocco Tours With Locals and Toubkal Experience take solo travellers with a surcharge, Atlas Mountain Trekking without. Age: Atlas Mountain Trekking from 12, Marrakech Day Trips (not in the selection) from 10, the others unstated. Languages: only Biking in Morocco lists German; all have English, French and Spanish. Pickup: included or possible with all twelve; Morocco Tours With Locals, Toubkal Experience and Toubkal Hike meet at Café Argana on Jemaa el-Fna.

Questions before booking

Two or three days?

Two days is the standard and enough if you are fit and can bear the headache. Three days add a night at altitude and – with View Morocco – a different route via the Azzaden valley and the Aguelzim pass. Details on the route page.

Can I go without a guide?

No. Since 2019 Morocco requires a licensed mountain guide in Toubkal National Park, and the checkpoint above Aroumd lets nobody through without one. All the packages here include him; if you organise yourself, you hire the guide in Imlil.

How cold is the summit in summer?

Around freezing at sunrise, colder with the wind – while Marrakech hits 40 °C in the afternoon. Down jacket, hat and gloves belong in every rucksack, even in August. More on the best-time page.

What do I need to bring?

Sturdy boots, poles, 2 litres of water, sun protection, headtorch, warm layers, in winter sleeping bag, crampons and ice axe (rent). The full list is on the packing-list page.

How much to tip?

Eight products exclude it, none quantifies it. Usual are amounts in the low tens of euros per guest for guide, cook and muleteer together, in cash in Imlil – a guide figure, not an operator's statement.

Why is Amazouz so cheap?

USD 120 in a group of up to 15, dormitory, breakfast and lunch – dinner is missing from the list, probably a listing error. It is the most-reviewed product at 4.7 stars; the private versions cost two to three times as much because driver, guide and cook work for two people.

About this route

Sources and check status

Show 15 sources
  1. www.viator.com/tours/Marrakech/From-Marrakesh-2-Day-Mount-Toubkal-Trek – Amazouz Morocco Tours, 2 days: inclusions, group/private options (Viator Partner API) (accessed 25 September 2026)
  2. www.viator.com/tours/Marrakech/Toubkal-Ascension-2-Days/d5408-158803P1 – Guías de Atlas, 2 days: inclusions, option title “3 Days”, tiers (Viator Partner API) (accessed 25 September 2026)
  3. www.viator.com/tours/Marrakech/Toubkal-trek-2-days/d5408-45314P10 – Toubkal Guide, 2 days: inclusions, exclusions, tiers 2/5/10 (Viator Partner API) (accessed 25 September 2026)
  4. www.viator.com/tours/Marrakech/Toubkal-Trekking-2-Days/d5408-133087P2 – Morocco Tours With Locals, 2 days: inclusions list, tiers (Viator Partner API) (accessed 25 September 2026)
  5. www.viator.com/tours/Marrakech/2-Days-1-Night-Hike-Mount-Toubkal-Tour/ – Toubkal Hiking, 2 days in tents: inclusions, group size (Viator Partner API) (accessed 25 September 2026)
  6. www.viator.com/tours/Marrakech/Hiking-in-Atlas-mountains-in-Morocco/d5 – Omar Adventures, 2 days: inclusions, winter exclusions (Viator Partner API) (accessed 25 September 2026)
  7. www.viator.com/tours/Marrakech/toubkal-ascent-from-Marrakech-2-Days/d5 – Biking in Morocco, 2 days: guide languages incl. German, tiers (Viator Partner API) (accessed 25 September 2026)
  8. www.viator.com/tours/Marrakech/2-Day-Toubkal-Trailblazer/d5408-425498P – Marocco Trekking, 2 days: inclusions without exclusions (Viator Partner API) (accessed 25 September 2026)
  9. www.viator.com/tours/Marrakech/2-day-mount-toubkal-trek-private-trek/d – Toubkal Experience, 2 days private: inclusions, tiers 1–9, crampons Nov–Apr (Viator Partner API) (accessed 25 September 2026)
  10. www.viator.com/tours/Marrakech/Toubkal-Ascent-Trek-4167m-2-days-1-nigh – Morocco Mountain Guides, 2 days: 6-day cancellation terms (Viator Partner API) (accessed 25 September 2026)
  11. www.viator.com/tours/Marrakech/From-Marrakech-2-Days-Mount-Toubkal-tre – Atlas Mountain Trekking, 2 days from 1 person: inclusions, minimum age (Viator Partner API) (accessed 25 September 2026)
  12. www.viator.com/tours/Marrakech/Toubkal-Ascent-3-Days/d5408-157202P16 – View Morocco, 3 days via the Azzaden valley: itinerary (Viator Partner API) (accessed 25 September 2026)
  13. docs.viator.com/partner-api/ – Viator Partner API: list prices per option and group size (availability/schedules) (accessed 25 September 2026)
  14. www.visitmorocco.com/ – Moroccan National Tourist Office: Toubkal National Park, compulsory guide (accessed 25 September 2026)
  15. www.refugedutoubkal.com/ – Refuge du Toubkal: location 3,207 m, dormitories, meals (accessed 25 September 2026)
12 offers from USD 120per person · Prices as of 23 September 2026
Go to comparison →