Skip to content
Trail&Pass
Sunrise on Poon Hill looking towards Dhaulagiri

Nepal · Guided trek · 2–5 days · Teahouses

Poon Hill Trek: seven tours, and why the price depends on how many of you there are

The Ghorepani Poon Hill trek is the most-walked short trek in the Himalaya: teahouses instead of tents, no pass above 3,300 m, and a sunrise before Dhaulagiri and Annapurna that is worth the steps. The market is huge and confusing. We checked seven products – and learned that almost every price on the platform is a group price.

3,210mPoon Hill at sunrise
Editorially checked on 23 September 2026Prices as of 23 September 2026Photo: Thapaliyashreeram, CC BY-SA 4.0
2–5days, all nights in teahouses
≈ 45kmloop via Ghandruk in 4 days
≈ 3,300stone steps up to Ulleri on day one
7 Comparefrom USD 201 →
The decision at a glance
  • Duration2 days (jeep to Ulleri, one night) · 3 days (out and back via Ulleri) · 4 days (loop via Tadapani and Ghandruk) · 5 days (loop with a night in Ghandruk)
  • Prices for twoUSD 200 (2 days, no meals) to USD 611 (4 days Premium); most 4-day packages USD 320–450 per person
  • Group pricingWith five of seven products the per-person price drops with group size – solo travellers pay up to 70 % more than couples
  • PermitsACAP and TIMS expressly included by four products, partly or not mentioned by three
  • PorterOnly Nepal Wilderness lists a porter (one per two people); Outfitter excludes it, five say nothing
  • CancellationSix products free up to 24 hours before; Nepal Wilderness non-refundable; Outfitter up to three days before

Who the Poon Hill suits

The Poon Hill is the trek for people who want to see the Himalaya without booking an expedition: no tents, no altitude above 3,300 m, a bed, a stove and dal bhat every evening. Children from about eight walk it, people over seventy too. What it demands is steps – the famous staircase to Ulleri on day one and the descent to Ghandruk on the last – and getting up at four.

It is also the trek where you learn how trekking in Nepal works: permits, teahouses, mandatory guide, porters, tips. Whoever wants to go on to Annapurna Base Camp or the Everest region afterwards knows what they are booking. If you are looking for solitude, this is the wrong place – Ghorepani has several hundred beds in season, and two hundred people stand on Poon Hill in the morning.

First things first: the price depends on how many of you there are

Five of the seven products have group pricing: the per-person price drops with the number of travellers in the same booking. With My Dream Adventure the 4-day trek costs USD 380 solo, 230 as a pair, 210 as four. With Swami Narayan it is 339 solo against 200 as a pair. The “from” price on the platform is often the price for six, eight or fifteen people – nobody travelling as a couple pays it.

That is why we show the price per person for two travellers everywhere, because that is the most common booking, and the full tiers on the cost page. Solo travellers should expect a 50 to 70 percent surcharge on all tiered products – or book the two products with a fixed price: Nepal High Trek (USD 400) and Nepal Wilderness (USD 448).

Three recommendations for three travel situations

Seven products from seven operators – unlike the Cusco treks, this is a real operator comparison. The route is the same for all; the differences lie in duration, meals, porter and how you get to the trailhead.

The standard with a choice

Sisne Rover – 4 days Standard

Permits, licensed guide, teahouse, all meals (limited choice), shared jeep, first aid, pickup in Lakeside. Economy with local bus and set meals for USD 321, Premium with private room, free choice and private car for USD 611. Porter not mentioned.

USD 405 Standard · per person for two travellers

Main limitation: Porter not in the inclusions (“extra porters” listed under personal expenses). Price drops from four and from seven people per booking.

Check on Viator →
The most complete list

Nepal Wilderness – 3 days with porter

The only product that lists a porter (one per two people), plus poles, kit bag, microspikes in winter, all meals, private transport and both permits. Three days out and back via Ulleri, no Ghandruk. Fixed price, but non-refundable and maximum two people.

USD 448 3 days · per person

Main limitation: Non-refundable. Maximum two people per booking. The itinerary is prose only: Ulleri, Ghorepani, Poon Hill and back, no Ghandruk.

Check on Viator →
If only a weekend is left

Swami Narayan – 2 days with jeep

4WD jeep to Ulleri so the staircase is skipped, one night in Ghorepani, sunrise, back. Permits, guide, teahouse, private. Meals excluded – budget around USD 50 for two days. USD 200 per person as a pair.

USD 201 Private, 2 days · per person for two travellers

Main limitation: All meals excluded. Long hiking days despite two days: Ulleri–Ghorepani on day one, Poon Hill and descent on day two. Solo travellers pay USD 339 instead of 200.

Check on Viator →

Affiliate links to Viator: if you book, we earn a commission and the price stays the same. Converted at Viator's rate on 23 September 2026; Viator converts at the day's rate at checkout.

Prayer flags at the Poon Hill viewing tower, Dhaulagiri behind
The mountain is 8,167 metres high. You stand at 3,210. It is enough.Photo: Sajjan811, CC BY-SA 4.0

Inclusions compared: permits, porter, meals, transport

Twelve inclusions on which Poon Hill tours differ. The most striking column is the porter: on a trek where many carry their own pack, five products do not mention one at all. “Open” here usually means: you carry your own, or you ask for a porter at a surcharge (around USD 20 to 25 a day).

Show me only offers with
InclusionSisne Rover · 4 days, three classesSisne Rover Trekking · 4 daysNepal Wilderness · 3 days, guide and porterNepal Wilderness Trekking · 3 daysNepal High Trek · 4 days, private roomsNepal High Trek & Expedition Pvt. Ltd · 4 daysMy Dream Adventure · 4 days privateMy Dream Adventure (MDA) · 4 daysMTA Trekking · 4 days with GhandrukMTA Trekking · 4 days · With reservationsSwami Narayan · 2 days with jeep to UlleriSwami Narayan Travels Pvt Ltd · 2 daysOutfitter Nepal · 5 days with a night in GhandrukOutfitter Nepal · 5 days · With reservations
Options and list pricesEconomyUSD 321for twoStandardUSD 405for twoPremiumUSD 611for two3 daysUSD 4484 daysUSD 400Private, 4 daysUSD 230for twoFull packageUSD 350for twoPrivate, 2 daysUSD 201for two5 daysUSD 450for two
days / nights4 / 33 / 24 / 34 / 34 / 32 / 15 / 4
StartPokhara Lakeside (pickup), drive to NayapulPokhara (hotel pickup 8 am)Pokhara (pickup), two-hour drive to NayapulPokhara (pickup with name card), local bus to NayapulPokhara Lakeside (pickup point of your choice)Pokhara Lakeside (pickup), jeep via Nayapul to UlleriPokhara (hotel pickup, 8 am)
Permits ACAP + TIMSincluded
Show detailsACAP and TIMS expressly included.
included
Show detailsTIMS and ACAP included.
?unclear
Show detailsACAP included, TIMS not mentioned.
included
Show detailsTrekking permit and TIMS card included; passport details and photo needed in advance.
?unclear
Show detailsDescription says “permit included”, inclusions list does not.
included
Show detailsTrekking permit and TIMS card included.
?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned.
Licensed guideincluded
Show detailsGovernment-licensed English-speaking guide; staff insurance and costs included.
included
Show detailsExperienced guide, female per the description.
included
Show detailsGovernment-licensed mountain guide.
included
Show detailsEnglish-speaking trekking guide.
included
Show detailsLocally licensed guide.
included
Show detailsEnglish-speaking trekking guide.
included
Show detailsGuide including salary, insurance, lodging.
Porter?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned; “extra porters” appear under personal expenses.
included
Show detailsOne porter per two people, kit bag included.
?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned.
?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned.
?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned.
?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned.
not included
Show detailsPorter per day extra.
Teahouse lodgingincluded
Show detailsTeahouse in a shared room; Premium with private room.
included
Show detailsTeahouse per option.
included
Show detailsThree nights in private rooms.
included
Show detailsGuesthouse per inclusions.
included
Show detailsLodge per option.
included
Show detailsTeahouse.
included
Show detailsLodges and teahouses.
Mealsdepends on option
Show detailsEconomy: set by the guide; Standard: limited choice; Premium: unlimited choice.
included
Show detailsBreakfast, lunch and dinner on the trek.
included
Show details3 breakfasts, 4 lunches, 3 dinners.
?unclear
Show detailsMeals not mentioned – presumably paid on your own.
included
Show detailsBreakfast, lunch and dinner.
not included
Show detailsAll meals excluded.
included
Show detailsBreakfast, lunch and dinner on the trek; not in Pokhara.
Tea, water, drinksdepends on option
Show detailsPremium only: tea, coffee, snacks and drinking water free.
not included
Show detailsAll drinks excluded.
depends on option
Show detailsThree cups of tea a day included.
not included
Show detailsPersonal expenses excluded.
not included
Show detailsAlcohol excluded; other drinks not mentioned.
not included
Show detailsExcluded.
not included
Show detailsAll drinks and desserts excluded.
Transport Pokhara ↔ trailheaddepends on option
Show detailsEconomy: public; Standard: shared taxi or jeep; Premium: private.
included
Show detailsPrivate transport.
included
Show detailsPokhara–Nayapul–Ghandruk–Pokhara included.
included
Show detailsRound trip by local bus per itinerary.
included
Show detailsPrivate car or jeep.
included
Show detailsPrivate 4WD jeep there and back as far as Ulleri.
included
Show detailsPokhara–Nayapul–Pokhara.
Hotel pickup Pokharaincluded
Show detailsPickup from all hotels in Lakeside, Pokhara.
included
Show detailsHotel pickup in Pokhara at 8 am.
included
Show detailsPickup; airport transfer mentioned.
included
Show detailsHotel pickup and drop-off.
included
Show detailsPickup point in Lakeside of your choice.
included
Show detailsHotel pickup in Lakeside.
included
Show detailsHotel pickup in Pokhara.
Private tour?unclear
Show detailsGroup or private tour not stated.
included
Show detailsMaximum two people per booking – effectively private.
?unclear
Show detailsNot stated.
included
Show detailsPrivate trek per inclusions.
?unclear
Show detailsNot stated.
included
Show detailsPrivate trip.
?unclear
Show detailsNot stated.
Sleeping bag, poles, jacketnot included
Show detailsNo sleeping bag, no poles mentioned.
included
Show detailsHiking poles, microspikes in winter (December to February).
not included
Show detailsNot mentioned.
not included
Show detailsNot mentioned.
not included
Show detailsNot mentioned.
not included
Show detailsNot mentioned.
included
Show detailsSleeping bag, down jacket and map on loan.
First aid, rescueincluded
Show detailsMedical kit carried by the guide.
?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned.
?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned.
?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned.
?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned.
?unclear
Show detailsNot mentioned.
depends on option
Show detailsHelicopter rescue is arranged, paid by your own insurance.
Price drops with group sizeincluded
Show detailsPer-person price drops from 4 and from 7 travellers.
not included
Show detailsOne price, USD 448.
not included
Show detailsOne price, USD 400.
included
Show detailsUSD 380 solo, 230 as a pair, 210 from four, 195 from eight, 170 from thirteen.
included
Show detailsUSD 475 solo, 350 from two people.
included
Show detailsUSD 339 solo, 200 as a pair, 175 from four, 154 from six.
included
Show detailsUSD 600 solo, 450 from two, 375 from six people.
Groupmax. 15 per bookingmax. 2 per bookingmax. 15 per bookingmax. 15 per bookingmax. 15 per bookingmax. 15 per bookingmax. 14 per booking
Tour languageEnglishEnglishEnglishEnglishEnglish, hiEnglishEnglish
AgeAll ages bookableAdults 12–70, children 6–10Ages 7 to 85 per the platformAges 5 to 90 per the platformAges 6 to 60 per the platformAdults from 10, children 6–9Ages 10 to 75 per the platform
CancellationFree cancellation up to 24 hours before start.Non-refundable.Free cancellation up to 24 hours before start.Free cancellation up to 24 hours before start.Free cancellation up to 24 hours before start.Free cancellation up to 24 hours before start.Free up to three days before start, no refund after. Manual confirmation.
Rating★ 5.0 (136 reviews)★ 5.0 (195 reviews)★ 5.0 (72 reviews)★ 5.0 (31 reviews)★ 5.0 (23 reviews)★ 4.7 (20 reviews)★ 4.9 (53 reviews)
ProductCheck on Viator →
Viator 153246P1
Check on Viator →
Viator 104921P5
Check on Viator →
Viator 179525P3
Check on Viator →
Viator 5535746P2
Check on Viator →
Viator 414474P1
Check on Viator →
Viator 101915P21
Check on Viator →
Viator 7649P10

How to read this: “included” and “not included” come from the operator's inclusion and exclusion lists on Viator. “Depends on option” means only certain bookable variants. “Unclear” means neither promised nor excluded – ask before booking. Unclear is not zero dollars.

Platform ratings signal demand and trust, not safety. Operator data as of 22 September 2026. Converted at Viator's rate on 23 September 2026; Viator converts at the day's rate at checkout.

Two permits, one card, one guide. For the Annapurna region you need the ACAP permit of the conservation authority and the TIMS card of the tourism board; the operator buys both with your passport details and a photo. Since 2023 a licensed guide is mandatory for trekking in Nepal – solo trekkers without a guide are turned back at the checkpoints. All seven products include a guide; three do not list both permits.

Booking terms: almost all cancellable

Unlike in Peru, Poon Hill products are usually free to cancel up to 24 hours before the start – there are no quota permits bought in advance. Exceptions: Nepal Wilderness (non-refundable) and Outfitter Nepal (up to three days before, manual confirmation). Age: the age bands are inconsistent – from “5 to 90” to “12 to 70”; for children from eight the trek is very doable in four days. Passport details: all operators need them in advance for the permits; My Dream Adventure says so expressly.

Questions before booking

How many days should I plan?

Four, if you have the choice: the loop via Tadapani and Ghandruk is the most scenic part and avoids going back down the same staircase. Three days save a day and Ghandruk. Two days with a jeep are a weekend with a very early start. Five days are worth it if you want to stay in Ghandruk. Details on the duration page.

Do I need a porter?

Not necessarily – many carry a daypack of eight to ten kilos themselves. If you want to walk the Ulleri staircase and the descent to Ghandruk with little on your back, ask for a porter: around USD 20 to 25 a day, up to 20 kilos for two people.

How cold does it get?

In Ghorepani at 2,860 m, below freezing at night in winter, around freezing in autumn, above it in spring. On Poon Hill at five in the morning always cold and windy – hat, gloves, down jacket. Teahouses heat only the dining room.

Can I do the trek without a guide?

Not since April 2023 – Nepal requires a licensed guide for trekking in national parks and conservation areas. The checkpoints on the Poon Hill enforce it. All products compared here include the guide.

How much do people tip?

For guide and porter together around 10 to 15 percent of the tour price, in rupees or US dollars, on the last day. For four days as a couple that is about USD 40 to 60 per person.

About this route

Sources and check status

Show 11 sources
  1. www.viator.com/tours/Pokhara/Ghorepani-Poon-Hill-Trek-3N-4D/d22291-153 – Sisne Rover Trekking, 4 days in three classes: inclusions, exclusions, group pricing (Viator Partner API) (accessed 23 September 2026)
  2. www.viator.com/tours/Pokhara/Poon-hill-Trek-3-days/d22291-104921P5 – Nepal Wilderness Trekking, 3 days: inclusions, exclusions, terms (Viator Partner API) (accessed 23 September 2026)
  3. www.viator.com/tours/Pokhara/Ghorepani-Poon-Hill-Trek/d22291-179525P3 – Nepal High Trek, 4 days: inclusions, itinerary (Viator Partner API) (accessed 23 September 2026)
  4. www.viator.com/tours/Pokhara/Poon-Hill-Trek-from-Pokhara-4-Days/d22291 – My Dream Adventure, 4 days private: inclusions, group pricing, itinerary (Viator Partner API) (accessed 23 September 2026)
  5. www.viator.com/tours/Pokhara/Poon-Hill-trek-from-Pokhara/d22291-414474 – MTA Trekking, 4 days: inclusions, group pricing (Viator Partner API) (accessed 23 September 2026)
  6. www.viator.com/tours/Pokhara/2-Days-Short-Poon-Hill-Trek/d22291-101915 – Swami Narayan Travels, 2 days: inclusions, group pricing, itinerary (Viator Partner API) (accessed 23 September 2026)
  7. www.viator.com/tours/Kathmandu/Annapurna-Ghorepani-Poon-Hill-Trek-10-D – Outfitter Nepal, 5 days: inclusions, exclusions, group pricing, terms (Viator Partner API) (accessed 23 September 2026)
  8. docs.viator.com/partner-api/ – Viator Partner API: list prices per option and group size (availability/schedules) (accessed 23 September 2026)
  9. ntnc.org.np/project/annapurna-conservation-area-project – National Trust for Nature Conservation: Annapurna Conservation Area Project (ACAP permit) (accessed 23 September 2026)
  10. ntb.gov.np/ – Nepal Tourism Board: TIMS card and mandatory guide (accessed 23 September 2026)
  11. www.gov.uk/foreign-travel-advice/nepal/safety-and-security – UK Foreign Office: trekking in Nepal, insurance, mandatory guide (accessed 23 September 2026)
7 offers from USD 201per person · Prices as of 23 September 2026
Go to comparison →